®
Support Forums

| Start | Register | Search | Statistics | File Bank | Manual |
Bugs miniBB Support Forums / Bugs /  

Some mails not arriving

Author WernerO
Partaker
#1 | Posted: 9 Jun 2003 15:36 
I'm having trouble with the sending of e-mails containing passwords and also e-mail notifications: they sometimes arrive with some providers, but mostly they don't.

This appears to be the same issue that is reported on http://www.php.net/man ual/en/ref.mail.php

First of all, I'm wondering in which minibb-file I should try adding some parameters .. and how (I'm not very technical)

Secondly, when I registered on this forum, your e-mail with the password arrived immediately. When I verified the headers of the e-mail, I noticed that they are being checked by SpamAssassin. Is this being done on your side or by my e-mail provider? I assume it is the reason why your e-mail has been accepted by my e-mail provider (which is external from my hosting provider). Now if I could just find a way to do that too...

Anybody else having these problems? Thx for any insights...

Author Team
8-)
#2 | Posted: 9 Jun 2003 15:49 
miniBB is using mail() function to send emails. It has to be configured on server side (usually, via sendmail directive in PHP settings). If sendmail in PHP does not work, you don't need to edit any miniBB file since it will not help you. Ask provider.

When I verified the headers of the e-mail, I noticed that they are being checked by SpamAssassin. Is this being done on your side or by my e-mail provider?

I guess, it's done either by our server provider or your SMTP account provider (second variant closer).

Author WernerO
Partaker
#3 | Posted: 9 Jun 2003 21:09 
Thx for your speedy reply!

Mail is working, below are the headers of a message that got through to a Hotmail address. But there are e-mail delivery problems for most other providers. This seems to be a well known issue.