| Start | Register | Search | Statistics | File Bank | Manual |
Suggestions miniBB Support Forums / Suggestions /  

MD5 a bit dated

Author AdamP
Partaker
#1 | Posted: 10 Feb 2014 09:52 
Hello
I really like this product!
But I have a concern about md5(). The hashing algorithm is a bit dated now.
I'm not an expert but I have read up on this pretty extensively.
It has a number of vulnerabilities and in many cases is not a great deal better than just storing passwords plain text. If someone does manage to get a hold of the list they could break it really quickly with modern hardware.

Just search SHA1/MD5/MD4 bruteforcer for ATI and nVidia GPUs for a bruteforcer (can't post link)
It found "roger15" in 16 seconds.
They wouldn't even need to run it separately for each password as there is no salt. It could be run once for the whole table. Simple passwords would be broken in a few seconds while more complex passwords might take a number of minutes or even hours.

And that is just for brute forcing, keep in mind that md5 is such a common algorithm that there are lists of md5 hashes (even with common salts).

Not to mention that md5 is vulnerable to collisions.

I realize that forums aren't a high value target, the worst that could happen is a few posts. But the real problem isn't the forums. If the password is broken and is associated with an email address and reused elsewhere on the internet what then? In practice users like to use the same password for everything. That means they could very likely get access to the email, facebook, online banking, and God knows what else.

And then the best defense we are left with is "you shouldn't use the same password for everything".

Something as simple as using PHP 5.3 crypt() with blowfish or (more recent PHP 5.5) bcrypt() might very well save a lot people a lot of trouble.

I mention this because I really like the product and I'd like to see it improved.

Adam

Author Paul
Lead Developer 
#2 | Posted: 10 Feb 2014 13:27