miniBB

®
Support Forums

| Start | Register | Search | Statistics | File Bank | Manual |
The Other miniBB Support Forums / The Other /  

Allowing only pre-assigned by admin users to access the forums

Author Mike_
#1 | Posted: 4 Jan 2008 12:54 
Hello. I am an instructor that will be teaching a hybrid course (half in-class, half online). I would like to set up a message board for my students to use to ask questions and whatnot.

I want to know if there is a way for me to preassign students a login and password to the forums I create and only allow these students be able to post to my forums? That is, I don't want anyone else to be able to make an account and to start posting.

Please let me know as your forums look great!

Thanks for your help.

Author Paul
Lead Developer 
#2 | Posted: 4 Jan 2008 13:08 
Hello Mike,

most probably you would need to set the option

$enableNewRegistrations=FALSE;

of setup_options.php which prevents new registrations.

However being logged as admin you can still sign up an account for certain user and whatever you need to use is the link which will look like

http://here_goes_your_URL/index.php?action=registernew

You can paste this link in the free HTML from under templates/admin_panel.html template so it would be comfortable to go to it next time when you need register a user... or just put it in your browser's Bookmarks. It's up to you.

Author Anonymous
#3 | Posted: 4 Jan 2008 16:17 
Thanks for the quick reply. I was thinking that I could also have students self-register and I could then approve those registrations on the admin side of things.

Is that also possible?

Author tom322
#4 | Posted: 4 Jan 2008 20:30 
Is that also possible?

Yes - via Premoderation addon

Author Paul
Lead Developer 
#5 | Posted: 5 Jan 2008 04:30 
Please refer to this thread, there is a free solution:

Administrator approving new users?

;-)

Author Roman2012
#6 | Posted: 8 Mar 2012 11:51 
Hello,