Support Forums

| Start | Register | Search | Statistics | File Bank | Manual |
The Other miniBB Support Forums / The Other /  

Installing miniBB by newbies...B-A, BA

Page  Page 2 of 2:  « Previous  1  2

Author Anonymous
#16 | Posted: 18 Jun 2003 15:39 
RAAN speaking
(from an outer edge of the Antarctic criss-cross : see above)

=> miniBB can, indeed, become "great",
(and much more, in perspective)

>>> but only IF full and accurate info is timely provided on how to set it all up, accomodate main options, and use it in real practice.

Author Anonymous
#17 | Posted: 18 Jun 2003 16:11 
dear ComplainyAnonymous,

i've been working with php for a couple of years and have installed a few forums in that time... miniBB was easy to set up. but you know what? 5 years ago, i wouldn't have expected it to be easy, because i had no idea what any of this stuff was. but you come here expecting people -- of their own free time & kindness -- to take you through the entire process with nurturing baby steps.

your self-righteous demands are appalling.

sincerely,

OtherAnonymous

Author Oakie
Partaker
#18 | Posted: 20 Jun 2003 08:42 
Anonymous, miniBB in itself is easy enough for your mother to use. But the implementation of this outstanding piece of software requires some basic setup that is best performed by someone with a modicum of webmaster experience.

For a newbie, it takes patience, practice and time to learn the necessary steps and skills.

I will try to explain what a beginner with no experience could do to get miniBB running as as easily and painlessly, and professionally as possible on the internet.

1) Get yourself a domain name . The domain name here is minibb.com . You should get one of your own and expect to pay a small fee for registering your own name. Here's a list of accredited businesses that will register your domain name for you:

ICANN