miniBB ® 

miniBB

®
Support Forums

| Start | Register | Search | Statistics | File Bank | Manual |
FAQ miniBB Support Forums / FAQ /  

Complete newbies/dummies thread, or What should you know before installing miniBB

Author glc
Partaker
#1 | Posted: 6 Mar 2003 21:23 
Hi and greetings.
I've downloaded MiniBB just the other day.
After unzipping, I find there's no COM or EXE file that I could run.
My scenario:
I just signed up with a web host and they use MySQL, PHP, Apache and Unix.

So I make a webpage and then upload them. Fine.
Now, I thought of using MiniBB as a guest book and private messaging. I figured on setting up everything on my home PC first then upload them afterwards.
But now after unzipping, I find there's no COM or EXE. Like, I couldn't even install it.

I'm using WindowsME.
Can anyone enlighten me?

thanks and hope to get a reply.

Author glc
Partaker
#2 | Posted: 7 Mar 2003 00:31 
Well I downloaded and installed the ff:
PHP installer.exe ver 4.3.1 binaries for Windows98/ME/XP/NT (1MB size)
MySQL zip file ver 3.23.55 for Windows98/ME/XP/NT (13.6MB size)

Can't find "magic_qoutes_runtime" so I can set it to OFF as stated by MiniBB requirements.

Ah..., now what do I do?
Do I still need the other PHP 4.3.1 (tar.bz2) Complete Source Code file? (3.5MB size)

Author Team
8-)
#3 | Posted: 7 Mar 2003 09:59 
glc
I have no comments :) Before giving such questions, you need to learn what open source is, what PHP is, what HTML is, what database is. You need to learn how to setup and run server, database on your computer. At last, you need to understand what forums software means and why do you need it - then I can answer you more, sorry.

Author glc
Partaker
#4 | Posted: 7 Mar 2003 12:30 
...Why do I get a feeling that it's more difficult than it seems?

Let me see, for MiniBB to work on my own PC running WinME(for testing):
1) I first need to have all the required software.
2) I'll have to configure them to work together.

I'll be back.