Support Forums

| Start | Register | Search | Statistics | File Bank | Manual |
Specific miniBB Support Forums / Specific /  

Any existing import tools?

Author sandoo
Partaker
#1 | Posted: 2 Dec 2013 16:37 
I'm new to minibb.
I want a forum I can place inside a block element inside an enclosing content management system (read post reply anyway) and minibb seems to work well that way (strip off HTML HEAD and BODY) from the templates. Misc hacks and adjustments will surely arise.

My first step will be to import 20,000 posts from a Phorum forum I've been running since 2000 or so. Last 10 - 13 years. I've already written an importer that (sort of) works. But I am getting "redirect cycle" error messages in the newly imported data. I'll get it figured out eventually.

Are there any existing importers to use as a model to work with? Perhaps for importing data from phpBB?

==============

Also, I see I have write privileges to some minibb dot com forums and not to others. I do not have write permission to the developers forum. Is that something I have to "apply" for?

Sandoo (Colin Pittendrigh)

Author sandoo
Partaker
#2 | Posted: 2 Dec 2013 16:39 
I haven't purchased any addons yet. But I will want quite a few of them. If I can load my existing data first.

Author Jaime
Partaker
#3 | Posted: 2 Dec 2013 21:52 
Hi Sandoo and welcome here in the forum,

Are there any existing importers to use as a model to work with? Perhaps for importing data from phpBB?
Youre not the first looks for such import possibilities. Read About Converting / Migrating miniBB to/from other board scripts, Conversion: phpbb -> minibb and Import VBulletin ... No, there is not a ready tool for the job. Each forum software is different and it can therefore also be no simple import option!. But this does not mean that it would be impossible ... Ask the Premium Support :)

Author Paul
Lead Developer 
#4 | Posted: 3 Dec 2013 16:29 
Thanks Jaime, you've said almost everything on this topic above.

sandoo: