®
Support Forums

| Start | Register | Search | Statistics | File Bank | Manual |
Specific miniBB Support Forums / Specific /  

Reverse CAPTCHA - anti-bot spam

Author Steve Shaw
Partaker
#1 | Posted: 25 Jan 2012 22:34 
I use Tectite.com forms on my website, and they have a great anti-spam process in the form of REVERSE CAPTCHA.

This seems to work 100%. I have been running it for over 5 years, and no spam at all.

See here: http://www.tectite.com/fmdoc/attack_detection_reverse_captcha.php

My question is how can I use this in MiniBB (being that my coding skills are HTML and CSS, not PHP)?
It looks to me (with my poor coding skills) that this would be a great way to reduce spam without using a normal human CAPTCHA - I just don't like them... personal view.

Any ideas/thoughts?

Author Paul
Lead Developer 
#2 | Posted: 26 Jan 2012 11:34 
As you know, we provide custom solutions for $25/hr. Investigating how it works may take up to 4 hours. $100 in total for this.

But honestly, I didn't understand what this solution is about.

They obviously force you to provide some extra fields on the form.
Obviously, values of these fields are passed to the script in a clear way. One of them is obviously generated in the JavaScript.
Everything which is submitted from the form, can be submitted by an automated program. Even JS values.

The only thing to avoid automated program know what is passed, is to show the value on the generated picture. The sense of Captcha is here. Automated program mostly can't read what's shown on the picture, because this data is not the part of the form. Therefore it can't fake to submit this data.

I would say, any other solution which passes data via POST can be broken.

We have an unbreakable and proved one for $6. It's a matter of your taste.

Author Guest
~
#3 | Posted: 26 Jan 2012 12:46 
Hi Paul,

The extra fields are hidden, so users see nothing additional.

One field is blank, the other pre-filled.