miniBB ® 

miniBB

®
Support Forums

| Start | Register | Search | Statistics | File Bank | Manual |
Custom Tutorials and Modifications miniBB Support Forums / Custom Tutorials and Modifications /  

Quick search bar / box HTML

Author vinod rawat
Partaker
#1 | Posted: 25 May 2006 12:17 
hi,
i'm new to it i mean new to minibb

is there any addon for search bar
like if there are several hundreds of posts in forum how may i search any particular post with some subject or content.....?

i guess putting a search bar for searching forums or web in it will go.

:up

Author Paul
Lead Developer 
#2 | Posted: 25 May 2006 17:43 
Do you mean, in general, external search bar, Google-like? Or something else? I don't think it's difficult to emulate simple search field, basing on what we have in default / advanced search...

Author vinod rawat
Partaker
#3 | Posted: 26 May 2006 09:09 
yes i mean a simple search bar to search contents of the forum/posts

if i need to find words "script", "minibb", etc etc.. in here minibb how may i find related therad or discussion already going on..?

hence, a simple / advanced search will be doing good for the members ..

"Paul u got it right"

this feature should be added..

thanks
vinod

Author Paul
Lead Developer 
#4 | Posted: 27 May 2006 15:54 
Why are you unhappy with default search page?

Anyway, here is the HTML code which you can paste in main_header.html, for example:

<form action="http://www.minibb.com/forums/index.php?" method="get" class="formStyle" >

<input name="phrase" type="text" size="15" maxlength="50" class="textForm" value="" />

<input type="hidden" name="searchType" value="0" />
<input type="hidden" name="where" value="0" />
<input type="hidden" name="forum" value="" />
<input type="hidden" name="action" value="search" />
<input type="hidden" name="searchGo" value="1" />

<input type="submit" value="Quick Search" class="inputButton" /> <a href="#">Advanced search</a>

</form>