®
Support Forums

| Start | Register | Search | Statistics | File Bank | Manual |
How To miniBB Support Forums / How To /  

Ignore/Delete 1st Post by the topic creator

Author Guest
~
#1 | Posted: 21 Aug 2009 01:39 
I'm fairly new to minibb and hope that someone can point me at the right direction on a specific problem i'm having.

One of the requirements for my the site is that all topics for forums will be created by the admin and users are not allowed to create anything apart from commenting on the topics.

The problem i'm having is that when a topic is created i have to insert a comment as well otherwise i can't create a topic but i don't want to show this comment to any of the users.

I tried deleting this post from the database and updating "posts_count" column but still it messes up my number of post count for some reason.

Could somebody please tell me on how to solve this issue? (either to ignore the 1st post by topic creator or to delete it without messing up anything else)

Author Paul
Lead Developer 
#2 | Posted: 21 Aug 2009 01:58 
You can delete the first post, after in the same topic, some another message has been posted. There will appear a "Delete" link near the first message automatically.

Else it has absolutely no meaning! You can't have a topic just with a topic title without message in it. It's impossible with miniBB (as well as with any other board I suppose).

Additionally, posting a descriptive message will give your members some food to think and comment. Topic title is just a little summary of what the topic is about.

Author Guest
~
#3 | Posted: 21 Aug 2009 03:04 
Thanks for the quick reply.

Paul:
You can delete the first post, after in the same topic, some another message has been posted. There will appear a "Delete" link near the first message automatically.
- This will be my last option but trying to find a different easier way

Let me give you more info on what exactly i'm trying to do here.